Rust In Peace

Rust In Peace | 1990

Rust in Peace is the 4th studio album by Megadeth.

Released on September 24th 1990 by Capitol Records, Rust In Peace was produced by Mike Clink and was the first album to feature Marty Friedman on guitar and Nick Menza on drums.

Rust In Peace Information

Rust In Peace was feverishly welcomed by fans and critics alike, putting Megadeth firmly on the map. To this day, it’s widely regarded as one of the best and most influential (Metal) albums ever made.

The band released two singles from Rust In Peace, the first was ‘Holy Wars… The Punishment Due‘. Holy Wars was inspired by the Northern Ireland conflict. The video was released around the time of the first Gulf War and featured news footage of various combat situations.

The second single to be released from Rust In Peace was ‘Hangar 18‘. The lyrics were about military intelligence and the video was inspired by 80’s conspiracy theories around the Roswell incident and the culture it generated. It was nominated for Best Metal Performance at the 1992 Grammy Awards.

Rust In Peace debuted at #23 on the Billboard chart and went platinum in 1994, selling 1,000,000+ copies.